Compare
KANJIN and Square Loyalty, compared
Two loyalty tools for small shops, side by side. If you already use Square, you can also use both: KANJIN connects to Square free. Every fact about Square comes from its own US pages, read on 10 October 2026. We make KANJIN, so read with that in mind.
| What it does | KANJIN | Square Loyalty |
|---|---|---|
| How customers join | Phone number, or the poster QR code. No app | Through Square. Points per visit, per amount or per item1 |
| Free plan | Yes, no time limit, no customer limit | No. 30-day loyalty trial1 |
| Entry price | $0. Paid plan $39 | Square Plus $49 per location2 |
| Whole-list export | Free | Not stated1 |
| Google review requests | Free, 20 a month. Paid: no monthly cap | Not stated1 |
| Texts or push | Neither. Email only | 500 texts a month, then 3¢ each3 |
| Wallet pass | No | Not stated1 |
US dollars a month, as listed. “Not stated” means we did not find it on the vendor pages we read.
Watch “What Square costs you, and what it does not” on YouTube
Short answer
Is Square Loyalty or KANJIN better for a small shop?
Where Square Loyalty is better
- If you already take payments with Square, customers earn points at the register with nothing else to set up. KANJIN connects to Square free, but it is a second product to set up.1
- Square Loyalty points can be earned per visit, per amount spent or per item.1
- Square Plus includes 500 texts a month, then 3¢ a text. KANJIN sends no texts.3
Where KANJIN fits
We make KANJIN, so read this part with that in mind. Your regulars are yours.
- Free, with no customer limit and no time limit. No card is needed.
- No app. The phone number is the card, and the Counter poster’s QR code lets customers join on their own phone, free.
- KANJIN sends 20 Google review requests a month on its own, free, by Google’s rules. Everyone is asked the same way, and nothing is offered for a review.
- The whole customer list downloads free. In Settings, under Take a copy, press Customers.
- It shows which regulars have stopped coming, by trade: a cafe after 21 days, a barbershop after 45, a pet groomer after 75. The email that writes to them is on the paid plan.
- The Daily ledger is free, and so are 19 tools on our Tools page, such as a break-even calculator.
- Connect Square free: a customer pays, their card gets stamped. No one types a number.
- KANJIN works next to any POS. Without Square, staff type the customer’s phone number on a tablet.
The honest limits
- Email only. No Wallet pass, no push messages, no texts.
- Email only. No texts and no push messages.
- The win-back email and the slow-day email are on the paid plan. The win-back email runs on its own once you switch it on. The slow-day email waits for you to read it and press Send.
- Email works in every country.
The free plan has no time limit and nothing is charged until you start the paid plan yourself. The paid plan is $39 a month, or $390 a year, per shop (plus sales tax where it applies), with 30 days free for a new business.
Questions
Common questions
- How much is Square Loyalty?
- As of October 2026, in the US, Square Loyalty is part of Square Plus at $49 a month per location. Square’s loyalty page offers a 30-day free trial. KANJIN has a free plan with no time limit.2,1
- Does Square Loyalty send texts?
- As of October 2026, Square Plus includes 500 texts a month, then 3¢ a text. KANJIN sends email only, with no texts.3
- Does Square take card payments in Taiwan or Hong Kong?
- Square’s help center lists card payments in 8 countries: the US, Canada, Australia, Japan, the UK, Ireland, France and Spain. Taiwan and Hong Kong are not on that list. KANJIN takes no payments, so it works next to the POS a shop has. Its emails work in Taiwan and Hong Kong.4
All five tools in one table, with the questions to ask before you choose: 5 questions to ask before your shop picks a loyalty app.
Sources
- 1. Square Loyalty page, checked 10 Oct 2026
- 2. Square press release on Square Plus, checked 10 Oct 2026
- 3. Square marketing pricing page, checked 10 Oct 2026
- 4. Square help: where Square takes card payments, checked 10 Oct 2026
Square Loyalty is a trademark of Block, Inc. KANJIN is not affiliated with Block, Inc.
Also compared: Stamp Me, Loopy Loyalty and FaveCard. All four, and which one to read.
Put your stamp card on the counter this week
A discount cuts the price for everyone who would have paid anyway. KANJIN emails your regulars only on the days you need them, and finds local creators you can invite.